Who We Are

Who We Are

The Boston Graduate School of Psychoanalysis is an independent, non-profit, tax-exempt 501(c)(3) organization incorporated in Massachusetts, authorized by the Massachusetts Board of Higher Education as a degree-granting institution, and governed by its Board of Trustees and administration. BGSP also has campuses in New Jersey and New York.

The New Jersey Campus is governed directly by BGSP's Board and administration. Because of the intricacies of New York state law, BGSP’s New York branch campus, the New York Graduate School of Psychoanalysis (NYGSP), is separately chartered by the New York State Board of Regents. However, NYGSP is governed as a branch of BGSP (and accredited as such), and is commonly controlled by the BGSP Board of Trustees, President, and Officers.


BGSP’s faculty lives what it teaches. As professional psychoanalysts or scholars, faculty members are dedicated to the practice and study of psychoanalysis, whether through their work in the community, research and scholarship, or private practices.



BGSP’s students and alumni share two things in common: curiosity about the human condition, and the courage to explore it.


Heike M. Arendt, MBA

Mimi Crowell, Ph.D., Center for Modern Psychoanalytic Studies

Christopher de Souza, Ph.D.

David Fogel, M.B.A, C.P.A., Swifton CFOs

Joyce Fredkin

Melissa Fristrom, Psya.D., Core Allies

Alan D. Lucas, CMC Boston, Inc.

Siamak Movahedi, Ph.D., BGSP Faculty

Vicki Semel, Ph.D., Psy.D., Academy of Clinical and Applied Psychoanalysis

Jane Snyder, Ph.D., BGSP President

Robert Stolzberg, J.D. (General Counsel)





Dr. Jane Snyder, President

Dr. Carol M. Panetta, Vice President of Finance and Institutional Relations

Dr. Lynn Perlman, Dean of Graduate Studies

Dr. Paula Berman, Associate Dean of Admissions and Enrollment

Ms. Amy Cohen-Rose, Director of Library Services

Ms. Gayle Dolan, Controller

Mr. Michael Fraley, Marketing Coordinator

Dr. Stephen Soldz, Director of the Center for Research, Evaluation and Program Development

Ms. Dianne Kaeli, Registrar

Ms. Stephanie Woolbert, Financial Aid and Admissions Coordinator


Dr. Leslie Barnard, Assistant Dean

Dr. Jon Dzitko, Library Assistant

Ms. Christina Healy, Fieldwork Coordinator

Dr. Paula Berman, Director of Admissions

Dr. Patricia Hugenberger, Director of Continuing Education

Mr. Michael Fraley, Operations Manager

Dr. Helen Michael, Dean of Students

Dr. Siamak Movahedi, Director of Programs in Psychoanalysis, Society, and Culture

Dr. Helen Michael, Director of the Therapy Center

Dr. Jill Solomon, Program Director, Accelerated Psya.D.


Dr. Mimi Crowell, Program Director

Mr. Stephen Guttman, Registrar

Ms. Laura Covino, Librarian

Dr. Marc Tallent, Director of Public Information

Dr. Rory Rothman, Director of Admissions

Dr. Joan Lippincott, Director of the Fieldwork Program

Dr. Vicki Semel, Director of Admissions

Dr. Dolores Welber, Director of Advisement

Mr. Kabir de Leeuw, Administrative Assistant


Dr. Vicki G. Semel, Program Director

Ms. Loretta Calabrese, Registrar

Ms. Eva Silver, Dean of Admissions

Ms. Janet Lazar, Librarian